LAS 38

17181920

~Odessa~
“Our girl is all grown up now. And she’ll be heading to college this fall. The house is going to be so quiet. And empty. What are we going to do?” Eli said with a sigh. We were relaxing on the beach, watching the waves roll in. I lifted my head up from his arm and just blurted out, “What if I were to tell you that…we’re having another baby?” His mouth dropped open but he quickly regained his composure. “Are you serious?” He asked. I nodded and smiled. “Well…the first one turned pretty good…so why not have about a dozen more?” He chuckled. He pulled me close and laid his hand across my stomach. “How long have you known?” I put my hands over his. “Only a few weeks. I was going to tell you after I went to the doctor. But there’s no better time than the present right?” I smiled again. “Right.” He murmured while kissing me on the cheek.

“Maybe it’ll be a boy this time.” He said hopefully on the walk back home. “Maybe.” We walked a little further then he said, “How about Finn if it’s a boy?” I came to an abrupt stop. “Why that name?” He shrugged nonchalantly. “It just popped in my head. I like it. Don’t you?” I nervously wiped my hair out my face. I hadn’t thought about my brother Finneas in years…and the memories of him now made my stomach clench. “Yeah it’s okay.” He suddenly picked me up and twirled me in the air. “I’m the luckiest guy in the world.” He shouted before kissing me. “Yes. You are.” I giggled.

Leave a Reply

