BOM 10

17181920

It was in the middle of the night when I first heard the piano playing. I was in the kitchen eating a bowl of cereal when I first noticed it. At first I thought it may have been Robert listening to music…but no…not at this hour. Following the sound led me to the attic. The closer I came to the door, the louder the tune grew. It was a melody that I was very familiar with…Beethoven’s “Moonlight Sonata.” I opened the door and the first thing I was greeted with was Vera’s face. It was the portrait Robert moved in here. I looked around trying to find the source of the music…there wasn’t even a piano in the room. Then it dawned on me…the music was coming from the painting! I’d only took a few steps closer to it when some books on the floor rose into the air and began to float towards me. Then they fell to my feet with a loud thunk. I’d finally had enough of Vera and her games. “What do you want from me?” I whispered at the painting angrily. “Just go away!” Then I stomped out of the room and down the hall. I was almost to my bedroom when I heard a woman’s voice say, “No. You go away!” Then the attic door slammed shut…

Leave a Reply

