BOM 13

9101112

A few days after the cooking fiasco, I noticed that the strange marks covering Robert’s body had finally disappeared. He still had a fever and a bit of a headache but he felt good enough to get out of bed for a while. I drew him a warm bath and kept him company while he soaked. He was in such a good mood that he began to sing a song…”When a moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie / That’s amore / When the world seems to shine like you’ve had too much wine / That’s amore.” I shook my head. “You silly man.” I said with a smile. I followed him back to the bedroom after he got out and dried off. He turned to me and wrapped me in loving embrace. “I’m glad you’re feeling better.” I murmured in his ear. “Me too.” He whispered while squeezing me tight. Then suddenly his grasp on me loosened and he fell to his knees. “R-Robert…are you okay?” I asked alarmed. He tried to take in several gulps of breath before checking his pulse. His eyes were panicked as he called out to me, “Char…” Then he fell over on the floor with a soft thud. “Noooo!” I cried out while rushing over to him. I bent down and laid my head on his heart, hoping to hear it still beating…but all was quiet. In shock, I slowly stood back up and zoned out for a few minutes before realization hit hard and fast. He was gone. Then the tears came…

Leave a Reply

