BOM 48

9101112

It was the night after Dorian left and I’d forgotten to the check the mail that day. I was next to the mailbox by Patience’s bedroom window when I looked inside. Vera was sitting at the foot of Patience’s bed with a devious grin on her face. I stood frozen in horror as she stood to tuck Patience in and then kissed her on the cheek. She turned to wink at me before evaporating into thin air. I ran in to make sure Patience was okay before grabbing a flashlight and a shovel then I made my way out to the backyard. I sunk to my knees in front of Vera’s tombstone. “Don’t make me do this, Vera. Just leave us in peace tonight…we’ll leave tomorrow morning and never come back.” I whispered. To my surprise, the stone glowed in response. “Who am I kidding? You’ll never leave us alone.” I spat out angrily. Then I stood up and began digging. Lucky for me…it was a shallow grave. I gathered her bones and threw them into the fire pit on the patio. Then I watched them burn with a satisfied smile on my face…

Leave a Reply

