BOM 49

13141516

When there was nothing but ash left in the fire pit, I turned around to go back in. Suddenly the lights flickered and then the whole place went dark. I could see Vera standing in the doorway…blocking my entrance inside. She greeted me with a knowing smile. My chest tightened in fear. My plan had not worked. I ran around to the front of the house and peeked in Patience’s window. It was too dark to see anything. I picked up a rock and broke the glass then pulled myself through it. Patience was sitting up in bed, startled. “It’s okay, baby. Let’s go outside okay?” I said soothingly while I picked her up. Once we were back outside, I knew what I had to do. “I’ll be right back, I promise! Don’t move!” I told Patience before going back through the window again. I ran to the liquor cabinet and started dumping it on all the furniture, all over the curtains, and near the hot water heater. I made a trail all the way back to the broken window then I jumped back out of it. I pulled a box of matches from my pocket then I lit one and threw it into the open window.

We stood there and watched as our house was engulfed in flames. The screams from inside the manor were otherworldly…guess Vera wasn’t too happy. I badly wanted to pick up Patience and just run away. But I had to stay. I had to be sure the house burned to the ground. I looked up and noticed someone standing on the balcony…I clenched my fists tightly. But then I realized it wasn’t Vera…it was a man. And it’d been years since I’d seen him but I knew him. He waved at us before fading away. He’d been here all along…protecting us. I sighed sadly and felt tears stinging my eyes. “Goodbye, Robert.” I whispered.

Leave a Reply

