BOM 8

9101112

Robert’s story about Vera shook me to very core. She was dead. But how in the world was I able to see her then? Was she a ghost…or was she something else? I had to know more. So while Robert was away at work the next morning, I snooped around the house. And I found nothing. I had given up and was preparing myself a snack when the microwave rose from the counter and began to shake in the air. Not waiting around to see what happened next, I took off upstairs. But I came to a sudden halt when I found Vera on the other side of the hallway. “Wh-what are you?” I asked nervously. She gave me a once over then sneered at me. Apparently I wasn’t worth her time. She disappeared through the wall without speaking a word. I ran into the bedroom and hid there until Robert came home. Then I told him everything. He smiled at me and patted me on the hand. He said I was probably just exhausted from not sleeping at night and it was making me see things that weren’t really there. Then he kissed me on the forehead and told me I’d feel better after a good night’s sleep. I sighed and curled up under the blankets. I thought about the look on Vera’s face when she saw me and how she seemed to be blocking my way past her. Almost as if she was guarding the door to the attic…

Leave a Reply

