LAS 12

5678

~Odessa~
I watched the beast wreak havoc on the fisherman’s ship in horror. I’d heard tales of the monstrous creatures before…the legend was that they were tied to sea witches. I’d never witnessed either with my own eyes before though…and I likely wouldn’t be forgetting about it anytime soon. I couldn’t help but feel sorry for the poor souls who were on board the ship.

Curiosity got the best of me as I swam closer to the leftover debris from the ship. Maybe there was something I could salvage. But then I realized I wasn’t alone. A few feet away, there was a boy bobbing along with the waves. And he appeared to be so weary. I watched him for a while, slipping back under the waves whenever he looked over in my direction. It wasn’t long after the stars rose in the sky that he went under. I couldn’t just sit by idly while he drowned…I had to save him. Swimming down to him and grabbing him underneath his arms, I quickly pulled him back to the surface. He choked up water instantly and took several deep breaths but he didn’t open his eyes. At least he was alive.

We reached land by morning. I dragged him as far as I could out of the water. Then I gazed at him while he slept. He was very young. I ran my fingers across his cheek. And he had such nice features. I sighed and stared some more. He was completely fascinating to me.

Eventually he began to stir. Fear of him finding me there finally drove me to leave. I swam back home as fast as I could. Once there, I curled up in a ball on my bed and daydreamed about the boy on the beach. Would I ever see him again?

Leave a Reply

