LAS 19

14151617

~Odessa~
Once we got back home, we sat together in silence. I could feel the heat from Finn’s glare burning into my skin. After a few more moments, I’d had enough. “Let me see if I can read your mind, Finneas.” I hissed. “You’re going to tell me what to do with my life again? Instead of that…how about you tell me why you’re following me around? Am I not allowed any privacy?” I snapped at him. “Tell me about the boy, O. How did he get on that island? Because of you? And why were you gazing at him like you would a lover? Do you love him?” He interrogated. “I don’t owe you an explanation.” I replied coldly.

“But he’s a human, O! What are you thinking? Humans bring nothing but death and destruction to everything around them! Tell me, Odessa…do you want to die?” He asked me angrily. Without giving me a chance to answer him, he spoke through gritted teeth, “You will forget about that boy. You will find a proper mate. And you will bring honor to our family name. Father would’ve wanted it that way!” I leaned back in my chair and rolled my eyes. “Father has been dead for more than a decade, Finn. How do you know what he would’ve wanted? We were merely children when he died.” I said while getting up from the table.

“And how did he die, O?” Finn said from behind me. “Humans!” I whirled around and faced him, “Not all of them are the same, Finn. And if I want to be with him, I will be…and there’s nothing you can do to stop me!” As I swam away from him, he called out snidely, “What are you going to do, O? Magically grow legs overnight?” Hearing him say that made me think of the sea witch that we’d heard tales of as children. The beast was more than a myth…maybe she was too…

Leave a Reply

