LAS 25

17181920

~Eli~
She was sitting in my chair, gazing up at me expectantly when I returned to the campsite. “Erm…hi.” I said nervously. “Sleep okay?” She smiled brightly at me. “I did, thank you.” I was right about her eyes…bright green. “So um…what’s your name?” She sat up straighter and announced, “I’m Odessa, daughter of Caspian.” I nodded. Very formal. “That’s a pretty name…Odessa. I’m Elijah…but my friends call me Eli.” I held my hand out for her to shake it but she just looked down at it with a puzzled expression. “Hmm…okay. Well…how did you get here?” I paused then gasped. “Did your boat sink too? Was it because of a big squid with long black tentacles?” I blurted out. Her eyes grew round and she struggled to think. She winced and held her hand up to her neck then she leaned from side to side about to topple over. I slid down to my knees in front of her and gently put my hands on her waist to keep her from falling. “Are you okay? Did you hit your head on something?” She stared deeply into my eyes before replying. “I-I don’t know.” She started off slowly. “I can’t remember…why can’t I remember?” She cried covering her face with her hands. Then she threw her arms around my neck and buried her face into my shoulder. “Hey.” I said calmly while giving her a light squeeze. “It’s going to be okay. I promise. We’ll figure it out.”

Leave a Reply

