LAS 9

13141516

~Elijah~
Early Friday morning, I set sail with Dillon on his boat. It wasn’t at all what I expected. I figured there would be fishing, and swimming, and conversations about the great outdoors. Instead there was a fully stocked bar and loud dance music. I didn’t want to seem like a rude guest, so I had a few drinks to appease Dillon. He came over and clapped me on the back and said, “It’s going to be one of hell of a weekend, man. You’re never going to want to go home.” I nodded my head at him and clinked my glass against his. “Cheers.”

By sunset, Dillon was comfortable in a lounge chair with a whole bottle of whiskey. He sighed and wistfully said, “This is the life right? Maybe I should just retire from acting and sail around the world.” When I didn’t reply, he looked over at me and asked, “You alright, man? You’re looking kinda green.” I assumed it was a combination of seasickness plus drinking too much way too fast. “I think I’m going to be sick.” I groaned while using the wall to hold myself up. “It happens, man. Just lean over the side and let it all out. You’ll feel loads better afterwards.” He suggested. I nodded quickly and did what he told me. It was so foggy inside my head. So I closed my eyes…for only a second. I didn’t realize I was falling over until it was too late and my body hit the water with a soft splash. As I slipped under the waves, I didn’t feel any fear. I felt like I was at at peace…like I belonged there.

Leave a Reply

