RTN 12

5678

“Whispers in the Dark”

I showed my mom the strange red stains on the couch but she assured me that it was just juice…then she flipped the cushions back over. Really? “Aren’t you at least going to clean it off?” I asked. She looked at me like I was crazy and said, “Are you?” I was so tired of dealing with her, so I left the room without answering her and went to bed. I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. And I dreamed of Jennie. I could hear her voice saying, “Cassie.” Then she whispered. “Wake up. It’s not safe here.” But I was so sleepy. I mumbled, “Not right now Jennie.” She moved closer to me and urgently whispered, “Get. Up. Now. He’s close. Too close. Please Cassie. Get up!” I pulled the covers over my face and said, “Just five more minutes.” Then like some kind of banshee from a horror movie she screamed right into my ear. “WAKE UP NOW!” My eyes popped open and for a moment I was disoriented. I didn’t know where I was or what had happened. I just knew I was frightened. I quickly jumped out of my bed. My feet hit the floor with a loud thud. I crossed my arms over my chest and looked all around me. I looked under the bed. I looked in the closet. Nothing. There was no one in my room. Just me and the dark. Maybe I really was going crazy…

Leave a Reply

