RTN 7

5678

“Twin Cities”

Jennie had been obsessed with leaving Tuckerwood ever since the trip to the city we took for our eighteenth birthday. She may been a small town girl but she dreamed of a glamorous life in the big city. She had no idea what she’d do if she ever got there but she knew what she wanted: a penthouse, a fast car, and her own tattoo parlor. I laughed when she first told me about it. I told her a tattoo artist could never afford to have the kind of lifestyle she wanted. She grunted and then gave me a sly smile and said, “I could if I found a rich husband.” We both giggled but then I ruined the moment by being all serious and saying, “But I’d miss you.” She grabbed me by the hand and said “No you wouldn’t! Because you’d be there with me. It’s me and you babe…always.” I smiled and said, “It sounds like a nice dream. But what would I do there?” She thought for a moment and then said, “Well you’d live with me. Until one of us got married anyways.” We giggled again. “Maybe you could write for a magazine or something cool like that? And Sid could come visit you on the weekends. Maybe he’d even move there eventually. And when Lizzie got old enough she could move in with us too. The three Clay sisters…together forever!” We laughed until our stomachs cramped. “Jennie, I love you…but you’re insane.” I told her. She giggled again and said,”I know, it’s part of my charm.” I stood up and stretched. Serious once again, I said, “We should head home soon…I don’t want to drive in the dark.” She tsked and said, “You’re such a drag sometimes, Cassie. You gotta live a little! But fine…let’s take a picture together and then we can go.” It was good picture.

Lately, I’ve been thinking I should go to the city and look for Jennie. But I don’t think she’s there. She wouldn’t have gone without me…would she?

Leave a Reply

