RTN 8

9101112

“Secrets & Lies”

I was going through some stuff in Jennie’s room today when I noticed one of the floorboards near her bed was loose. I pried it open then stuck my hand down into it and pulled out several books with locks on them. They had to be Jennie’s diaries. I used a knife from the kitchen to pop the locks off then I went to my room so I could read in private. I flipped through them until I came to the most recent entry…it was from 2 days before she disappeared. It said:

Dear Diary,
I’m so miserable. I feel like I’m drowning and can’t keep afloat much longer. I don’t know what to do! I can’t confide in anyone about it or he’ll send me to jail. He knows about the deal I have with Stella. I don’t want to go to prison. I can’t go. I won’t survive. He also threatened to come after Cassie if I told anyone. I’d rather it be me than her. I can’t let him hurt her. But if he touches me one more time, I’m going to kill him.

I felt overwhelmed with sorrow after reading her words. She was in trouble. And she was protecting me from someone…but who? Now more than ever, I had to find that guy she went to the party with. He had to know something! And who was Stella? So many questions I needed answers to. I was torn…I knew I needed to hand this journal over to the cops but I felt like I couldn’t. Jennie wouldn’t want me to. But she would want me to find out what happened to her. I would have to figure this out on my own…

Leave a Reply

