RTN 9

13141516

“Risky Business”

It was a lot easier to find Stella from Jennie’s diary than I thought it would be. All I had to do was ask Sid…he knew practically everyone around here. What I didn’t expect was for him to tell me that she was drug dealer. That made my heart to skip a beat. Jennie was mixed up in drugs? Then he told me that Stella was crazy and could be dangerous. He wouldn’t let me go see her on my own. I told him he could come along but nothing was going to stop me from talking to her. He didn’t look too thrilled.
When we got to Stella’s, I felt my stomach clench. You know how almost every town has that one house that kids are scared to go near? Well Stella lives in that house. I remember when Jennie and I were kids, Mom would tell us to stay away from it because it was bad place. Even now it gave me a negative vibe. What the hell where you thinking Jennie?
Stella was sitting out in her yard. She called out in a raspy voice, “What can I help you kids with?” I nervously replied, “We just want to talk.” Even though I was scared, I was even more determined to find out the truth. “Well come on over here and have a seat.” After she got a better look at me, she said “I know why you’re here. Looking for that sister of yours right?” I nodded my head. She continued, “Well I haven’t seen her since the day the papers say she disappeared. She came over that afternoon to pick up some stuff and I ain’t seen her since. I’ve been looking for her too. She owes me money. My best guess is she’s holed with that nobhead boyfriend of hers somewhere. I think his name was Aj or Ace. Something like that.” Finally…a name. “Thank you for your help.” I said with a small smile. She grinned and said, “No problem. You can repay me by telling Jennie to come see me when you find her.” I nodded and motioned for Sid to come with me. It was time to get the hell out of here. When we were no longer within Stella’s earshot, he leaned in and whispered, “I know where to find Aj.”

Leave a Reply

