JW 15

37383940

The car crash that killed two teens was replayed on the news over the next few weeks. A bus had pulled out in front of them and to miss it, Chad swerved out of the way…and directly into a tree. Nolan had survived without even a scratch…but Chad and Heather hadn’t been so lucky. Blake…she was inconsolable about losing Chad. She’d already missed so much school…but she could hardly get out of bed. She finally confided in me a few days later. “Jane…you can’t tell Dad. But I’m pregnant.” She looked at me with tears welling up in her eyes. “Oh Blake, I had no idea.” I gently put my arms around her. She buried her face into my shoulder and sobbed, “What am I going to do now, Janie? He’s gone and I’ll have to raise this baby all alone.” I pulled back so she could see my face. “No. You won’t. I’ll do anything I can to help you. You’ll never be alone. I promise…”

Leave a Reply

