LAS 51

29303132

~Chelsea~
The days came and went. But the time that I spent waiting for my test results were the longest two weeks of my life. I went to the park near my parents’ house after class. It was the third week and still I’d heard nothing from my doctor. Usually that’s a good sign, right? I sat on the swings and kicked at the dirt underneath my feet. I was pretty down in the dumps when I realized that someone was sitting in the swing next to me. I looked over at him and said, “Hi.” He waved back at me shyly. Then I noticed his feet were bare. “Where are your shoes?” I asked politely. “I don’t have any.” He shrugged. “You look like you could use a friend.” He said with a gentle smile. I sighed. “Yeah. I’m having a tough time. Was it really that obvious?” He nodded. “How about a push?” He asked. “Sure. Thanks.” He pushed me on the swings until it got dark, then he had to go home. I didn’t even think to ask for his name until he was already gone…

Leave a Reply

