WW 19

13141516~Lauren~
We had both lived in Hylewood since birth but it still amazed me how much Elliott knew about the town. He knew all these shortcuts, secret roads, and special places, and he knew all the history surrounding them. I remember one time when were leaving the beach, he told me he had something to show me. We hiked all the way to the top of a hill and then he lead me to a bench that overlooked the sea. When we sat down, he put his arm around me and we watched the sunset together…it was beautiful. Then when it got dark, the sky turned into so many different colors and the stars shined so bright…almost like they were calling out to us. We sat on the ground and I leaned into him getting a big whiff of his cologne. Polo…I still love the smell of it today. But the whole time we were watching the stars, I was thinking about what he’d told me about his plans for the future. I always figured that I would go to college, move to New York and become a best-selling author. Big dreams. He had told me that he couldn’t imagine a future without me in it when I had done the complete opposite. Not because I didn’t love him but because I always thought he was too good for me. But that night I changed my mind…I wanted the life he had planned for us. More than anything.

Leave a Reply

