WW 2

1234By default…loners are the easiest targets for bullies. At least in Elliott’s case anyways. I remember that day like it was yesterday…it was a breezy autumn day…and the leaves had already changed colors…and it was chilly but not cold enough for a jacket. It was one of those extremely rare days that Elliott came outside with the rest of our class. He was sitting on the swings by himself…minding his own business…lost deep in thought. Then Brittany Pepper came out of nowhere and starting calling him names. She’d been tormenting the poor boy for years and never got in trouble for it. “Four eyes” was that day’s insult of choice. I don’t know what came over me but I decided I’d finally heard enough out of her. I stepped in between them and told Brittany that having four eyes was a lot better than having a brain the size of a booger. Yeah…crappy insult…but hey, I was 10. Then the recess bell rang and she huffed and puffed and flipped her hair and walked away. After school I found Elliott on the playground and we sat on the swings until it started to get dark. When I told him I had to go home, he wrapped his arms around me and whispered thank you…and that was the day we became best friends.

Leave a Reply

