WW 36

1234~Elliott~
For Lauren’s birthday, I took her on a picnic in a quiet park. It was just the two of us…exactly the way I wanted it. We talked while we ate…mostly about school. Everytime the subject about college came up, it was like a dark cloud hovering over me. But I kept my mouth shut. I knew we would find a way to work things out. Plus I had a plan…I always had a plan. 😉 I stood up and helped her to her feet. Then I asked her if she had any idea how much I loved her. She smiled…and asked “more than anything?” I said “that’s right” as I kissed her gently. I got down on one knee and pulled out the box that I had bought last summer with every bit of the money from my lifeguard job. Every penny was well spent, too. I opened it and she gasped when she saw the ring. And I said “Lauren, my love, it would be an honor if you would spend the rest of your life with me. Will you marry me?” It was as if everything around us had paused in that moment…I could hear my heart pounding in my ears as I waited for her response. She quietly said “Yes.” Then she repeated it two more times, louder and louder…”Yes! YES!” I slid the ring on her finger and wrapped my arms around her. It was the happiest day of my life.

Leave a Reply

