WW 6

1234For six years Elliott tried to convince me to go out in his boat with him. I always refused because I couldn’t swim and then he’d tell me that I didn’t need to know how to swim since I’d be sitting in a boat. Yeah well, I was a firm believer in Murphy’s Law…”Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” So the summer that we turned 16 years old, Elliott started taking classes to be a part time lifeguard. The first thing he did with his new skills was teach me how to swim. I have to admit that I wasn’t a good student though…I was always goofing off and splashing him which caused him to get very frustrated with me. He took everything so seriously. But after 2 weeks, once I felt comfortable enough to float with him out in the deep water…I finally gave in to Elliott’s wishes. It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be and the sunset was just as beautiful as he promised but the further out he took me, the more anxious I felt. Even though we were miles from the shore, I had the distinct feeling that we were being watched. Silly right?

Leave a Reply

