WW 71

1234~Lauren~
Lee loved the water just as much as her father did. During bath time she never cried and always wanted to stay in longer when it was time to get out. And the first time we visited the ocean together, she she struggled to get out of my arms and ran to the water’s edge. She stood there staring at the ocean lapping at her feet…then she plunged in head first. I felt like my heart had stopped in my chest and it kept me frozen in place for a full minute before I was able to move again. I quickly took off after her beneath the waves. When I pulled her up into my arms again, she was fine…laughing and splashing around like nothing had happened. I scolded her and told her to never run away from mommy again…she frowned and stuck her bottom lip out like she was going to cry but she nodded. She understood. I ran my hand through her hair and told her I didn’t know what I’d do if anything ever happened to her. She looked up at me and smiled while splashing her feet into the water around us. I sighed. Who could stay mad at that cute little face? We stayed out there and played in the water until the sun went down. When it was time to go home, I stood admiring the sunset across the water…and just for a moment I thought I saw something out in the distance. A ship? No, it was bigger than that. An island, maybe?

Leave a Reply

