WW 99

13141516~Lauren~
I sighed in relief once we could no longer see those hellish islands in the distance then I looked over at Elliott. I felt nervous standing next to him so I went below deck to try and calm myself down. I was afraid that this was all just a dream and that I was going to wake up any second…and he would be gone. I couldn’t go through that again. I sunk to the floor and started to sob. All of the emotions that I kept bottled up for the last four years came rushing to the surface. He must’ve heard me because he came to check on me. He kneeled in front of me and tried to wipe the tears from my face but they kept coming. He ran his fingers through my hair and told me that everything was going to be okay. I nodded and we sat there in silence. I leaned over and kissed him…then he picked me up and carried me to the bed. A few hours later, I finally drifted off to sleep while he held me. When I woke up and joined him above deck, it was still dark outside. The moon was out and the stars were shining brightly. And just off to the right, I could see what looked to be a tree. Land! I told Elliott to look and sure enough, it was the small island that I passed on my way to find Elliott. That meant we were almost home…

Leave a Reply

