WW 108

5678~Lee~
My second day at work wasn’t boring at all. It was a dark and overcast day and I was about to head back to my car to get my raincoat when I caught a glimpse of what looked like a person. They were way out past the buoys and it looked like they were struggling to keep their head above water. Adrenaline was pumping through me as I ran to the water’s edge then swam as fast as I could to the little blur in the distance. When I got close enough to see that it was a girl, I realized I actually knew her! Her name was Tessa and we’d been friends in elementary school until she moved away. I always wondered what had happened to her. Her eyes locked on mine and she tried to smile at me but she was in too much of a panic. I calmly told her that she was going to be okay and that I was going to keep her safe. And I did. But to my surprise, she fainted once we came shore and she hit the sand with a soft thud. I guess almost drowning will have that kind of effect on a person. She woke up several minutes later and she jumped up to hug me. She asked me how could she ever repay me for saving her life? I laughed and told she could buy me a coffee sometime. She grinned and said it was a deal.

Leave a Reply

