WW 115

13141516~Lee~
I was watching over Grandma when she looked over and asked me what I was reading. Without mentioning the title, I told her it was the best book I’d ever read. I asked her if she’d like for me to read some of it to her and she nodded her head. I flipped to one of my favorite chapters and recited it to her. A few minutes passed before she interrupted me and told me to stop. I asked her why. Then I asked if she’d read it before. She told me she knew the story quite well and she sighed. I could tell that she was annoyed by my questions. It was quiet for a while. But then she spoke and said that there was a few things I needed to know but Dad should to be the one to tell me. She seemed so sad…and so very tired. I knew she missed Grandpa terribly. It could wait. So I told her to get some rest and to let me know if she needed anything. But sometime during the night, I passed out as well. It was in the early hours of the morning when birds chirping outside the window woke me up and alerted me to the awful scene before me. She was so pale. And cold to the touch. I knew without checking her pulse that she was gone. I called my parents into the room and sat back into my chair. I was in shock. My dad assumes it was a stress related heart attack. But I think she died of a broken heart…

Leave a Reply

