WW 116

17181920~Lee~
They were buried together a few days later. It was a traumatic time for the rest of my family. My dad was taking it really hard. I can’t imagine how it’d feel to lose both of my parents within days of each other. I wanted to be there for him but I just couldn’t force myself to go to the funeral. Instead I stayed shut in my room and stared at the walls. It wasn’t until dark when I finally stirred out of my daze. I walked all the way to the cemetery in the pouring rain and stood in front of their headstones…then the tears came. I was in mid sob when I realized I wasn’t alone. There was a woman slowly approaching me with a gentle smile on her face. She looked familiar. She said that she’d seen my grandparents’ obituaries in the newspaper and she felt like she needed to come. She put her hands on my face and told me that I looked just like my father then she wrapped me in a warm hug. It was awkward. I told her that I was sorry but I needed go. I think the puzzled expression on my face gave away that I had no clue who she was. But somehow she knew me. She told me that she was a family member and asked if I would meet her next weekend and said that there was a lot we needed to catch up on. Curiosity got the best of me. I gave her my phone number and a small wave…then headed back home with so many thoughts on my mind.

Leave a Reply

