WW 122

1234~Lee~
While I was waiting to be rescued, Ann knocked on the door to our bedroom and asked if she could enter. I didn’t answer her. I just sat on the floor and continued staring at the ceiling. After a few moments, I heard the door creak open. She walked over to me and stood looking down at me. “This whole thing is so awkward. Even though I’m angry too…I still can’t imagine how you feel right now.” she said. I sighed and rolled my eyes. “Think of the most horrible day of your life and multiply it by ten…then you may have some idea.” I told her sarcastically. Her face fell and I instantly felt a pang of guilt. It wasn’t Ann’s fault and she didn’t deserve for me to take my frustration out on her. I stood up and apologized. “Look, I’m sorry Ann. I’m not mad at you. I’m just mad.” She shrugged her shoulders and said, “It’s okay. I understand.” About that time, the doorbell rang…my ride was here. “I’m going away for a while, and I don’t know when I’ll be back. If I ever come back. I’m not sure what’s going to happen yet. But I’ll miss you, Ann.” I told her. She jerked me into a tight hug and then she whispered in my ear, “I’ll miss you too. I hope you know that you’ll always be my sister, Lee.” I squeezed her hand one more time before grabbing my suitcase and walking towards the front door. I passed my Uncle and Aunt in the hallway and didn’t even make eye contact with them. Then they all followed me outside. No one spoke but I could hear crying. I didn’t turn around. Melinda stood at the end of the walkway waiting for me. I was going home…

Leave a Reply

