WW 160

13141516~Lee~
Late Saturday night, I was watching a sappy movie with my grandma when the doorbell rang. She looked over at me and asked if I was expecting someone. I shook my head and told her I’d get it. I walked to door, thinking it was probably Ann. I was surprised to see that it was actually Owen standing out on the porch shivering. I cracked the door open and said, “What are you doing here? And how did you find me?” He gave me a sheepish grin and said, “I asked Ann for directions. I hope you’re not mad. I just had to see you.” I held the door open for him and motioned for him to come in. Then I told him, “I figured you’d still be at my house with Tessa. I heard the two of you were really hitting off.” A look of repulse passed over Owen’s face before he began apologizing to me. “Lee, please believe me. It wasn’t like that. Well, maybe she does like me but I don’t feel the same way. You’re the only girl for me. Which is why I proposed in the first place. I see now that it was too soon. But it doesn’t change how I feel. I love you.” I think that was all I needed to hear. I slid into his arms then I looked him right in the eyes and said, “I love you, too.” He caressed my cheek and kissed me lightly on the forehead. Then we heard a voice coming from the living room, “Bring the boy in here so I can get a good look at him.” Laughing I grabbed Owen by the hand and took him to meet my grandma. She smiled at him warmly then she invited him to stay for pizza and finish the movie with us. Once we all got situated in front of the tv, she leaned over and whispered, “Yes, he’ll do nicely.” Grandma knows best.

Leave a Reply

