WW 163

5678~Lee~
Owen came over for dinner tonight and afterwards we were watching the history channel when a news broadcast interrupted. An underwater wreckage had been discovered a few miles out from the island of Hylewood. There weren’t many details but the ship was estimated to be 20-30 years old. People were signing up for an expedition to uncover as much from the wreckage as possible. This weekend a team was taking applications for other experienced divers to come along on the search. “Isn’t that amazing?” Owen asked. “I’d love to be a part of something like that. Wouldn’t you?” I didn’t answer him. I was thinking of all the coincidences surrounding that ship. Both of my parents went missing in the ocean near Hylewood. Over 20 years ago. Under strange circumstances. Who knows what secrets lie in the depths. Or answers. Answers that I needed to know or they’d haunt me for the rest of my life. A sob escaped my throat. Owen turned to look at me then pulled me into his arms. “Babe, are you okay?” he asked sympathetically. I nodded and buried my face into his chest. He didn’t know why I was crying but he held me and tried his best to comfort me anyways. One day I would tell him everything. About my parents. About my past. About my nightmares. Just not today…

Leave a Reply

