WW 168

5678~Lee~
Sleep. Something that sounds so simple but it’s just out of my reach. Seems like I can only sleep when Owen is with me. Because every time I close my eyes, I’m back underwater. I see their bones…their hollow eyes…their skeletal smiles. And sometimes they speak to me but I can never remember what they say. I just wake up in a cold sweat and I get so stressed that I don’t bother trying to go back to sleep. Tonight was no different. I threw the covers off me, climbed out the bed, and sat in the floor hugging my knees. I felt like I was going mad. And I was worried that I’d never recover. A fat tear slid down my cheek and I wiped it away and said out loud, “If you’re not breathing, why am I?” At that moment, a cold hand brushed against my shoulder and a voice whispered, “Don’t cry darling. It’s not the end of the world.” I jumped up and whirled around…there was a man standing in my room. His clothes were tattered and water was dripping from them. “Where did you come from? How did you get into my house?” Then realization hit me. “Wait…I know you!” I said in shock. He nodded and sat on my bed. “But you’re my…you’re…” I trailed off and continued looking at him. How could this be? “Yes Lee.” He said softly. “I’m your father.”

Leave a Reply

