WW 169

9101112~Lee~
I grabbed my robe from the floor behind me and quickly tied it without breaking eye contact with him. I couldn’t stop staring at him…how was this possible? Struggling to stay composed, I pointed at him and said, “But you’re dead. Does this mean you’re a gh-ghost?” He looked confused but then replied, “I hadn’t really thought about it but I suppose I am. I’m just…” he waved his arms around, “here.” There was a moment of panic when I realized how ridiculous it all sounded. Ghosts weren’t real. People die…and they don’t come back. “I’m losing my mind right? Or I’m dreaming? That’s got to be it. I’m asleep.” I said while pacing the room back and forth in front of him. He stood in walked in front of me and placed his hands on my shoulders. “I’m as real as it gets darling.” he said softly. He put his arms around me and I laid my head on his shoulder then I began to sob. I momentarily thought to myself that it felt like I was hugging an ice cube…but I wouldn’t have traded it for anything in the world. Then he whispered in my ear, “I can’t stay long..or she’ll notice I’m gone.” It was my turn to be confused, “Who, my mother? Where is she?” He gently let me go and said, “No. So many questions. Not enough time. I came to warn you.” Suddenly I could hear a deafening roar in my ears…like all the blood in my body was rushing to my head. Then I noticed that he was starting to fade away. Feeling rather dizzy, I still tried to continue the conversation, “What do you mean? Warn me about what?” I asked anxiously. “The light, Lee. Don’t walk into the light…” his voice trailed off and then he was gone. “Wait…please come back!” I pleaded. But I knew it was no use. I was just talking to an empty room.

Leave a Reply

