WW 171

17181920~Chris~
Owen spotted Lee lying in the middle of the road and immediately called out for help. He checked for her pulse and found that she was cold to the touch and badly injured but alive nonetheless. Within a few minutes, Lee’s next door neighbor came outside to say that help was on the way. Owen called me to let me know what happened. Lee had already been picked up by the EMTs but he was going to stay behind so he could speak to the cops. I woke up Haylie and we called Ann to let her know what was going on. When we arrived at the hospital we met Melinda in the waiting room and told her the few details that we did know. It was an intentional hit and run. Someone meant to hurt her. I asked to see Lee but she was already in surgery. So there was nothing left to do but wait…and worry. A few hours later, she was stable but comatose. A nurse led me down the hallway to her room and I was finally allowed to see her. I walked to her bed and laid my hand over hers. “Please wake up.” I pleaded softly while giving her fingers a gentle squeeze. I stood there for what felt like an eternity when the nurse came back for me and said the doctor wanted to speak to us. As we listened to the doctor explain Lee’s critical condition, an uncontrollable rage spread itself throughout my body. I swore to myself that if I ever found the person who did this to her that I would make them pay for it…

Leave a Reply

