WW 173

5678~Lee~
Days. Weeks. Months. Years. I didn’t know how long I’d been there. Even though there was no actual passing of time, there was a routine. We’d sleep, we’d eat breakfast together and we’d talk. Then it would repeat. But today…it was blurrier. Almost like it was all a dream that was fading. The first thing I noticed was the horrible headache. I told my parents about it as we ate our meal and I caught them exchanging worried glances. Then my arms and legs began to ache. “Do you know what’s happening to me?” I asked them with suspicion in my voice. They both started talking at once. “You have to go back.” My father said loudly. My mother looked as if she was about to argue with him but instead sighed and nodded in agreement. “It’s true.” She said sadly. “If you stay any longer, your body will die.” At that moment, a memory flashed through my mind…I was walking in the snow. Then I remembered…the lights. They were from a car. Someone tried to kill me. “Tell me everything.” I said calmly. And they did. I finally learned the whole story. Why I grew up without them. What really happened to them. Who Nerissa was. Who Tessa was. “Tessa is my sister?” I said out loud. It sounded bitter on my tongue. My father looked distraught and said, “It wasn’t by choice.” I nodded. I understood. And I knew why I had to go back. But I didn’t want to. “Can’t I just stay here with you both?” I asked softly. Dad shook his head and smiled, “It’s not your time yet. But one day…one day we’ll all be together. I promise.” They both gave me one last longing look before my dad uttered, “Wake up Lee.” Then there was a bright beam of light before it all went dark again…

Leave a Reply

