FM 17

1234

I tossed and turned all night watching the minutes on the clock pass. By the time the first rays of morning sun peeked through my blinds, I was exhausted and wanted nothing more than to close my eyes. But I had a meeting with the chief of police in four hours. We were going to be discussing my promotion. I jumped up and got dressed. It wasn’t even 6am yet but sleeping was out of the question. “Guess I’ll go for a jog” I muttered to myself, changing my clothes quickly. Fresh air was exactly what I needed. Feeling rejuvenated, I headed into the kitchen for something to drink and found Madison and Dad eating breakfast. “What are you guys doing up so early?” I asked suspiciously. Maddie smiled. “Today is the big day, right?” I grunted and took a big gulp of orange juice. “We just wanted to see you off. Moral support…and all that stuff.” She winked at me. “Much appreciated.” I stuck my tongue out at her. “Somebody sounds nervous.” Dad chimed in. “Maybe a little.” I admitted. “Honey, you have nothing to worry about. They would be crazy not to give you the promotion. You’re a hard worker and very dedicated to the job. You’re gonna be just fine.” I cocked my head to the side and grinned. “I hope you’re right.”

Leave a Reply

