FM 18

9101112

I paced up and down the sidewalk outside the precinct, trying desperately to gather my nerves. This was it. “I can do this!” I pepped myself up. I took a deep breath, squared my shoulders, and headed to the police chief’s office. I stood there awkwardly waiting for Chief James to notice I was there. “Sit down, Officer Casey. You’re early.” My eyes grew round. “I’m so sorry, mam.” She shook her head at me. “Stop apologizing. It gets you nowhere. Now, I hear you’re wanting to go into a different field. Homicide.” She glanced up from her files and gazed at me evenly. “It’s not a dog and pony show…are you sure this is what you want?” I cleared my throat. “Yes, mam. I’ve never been more sure about anything in my life.” She seemed satisfied with my answer. “You’ve got it. Congratulations on your promotion.” She extended her hand to me. “Detective Casey.” I smiled widely and shook her hand energetically. “Thank you, mam. I’ll do my best.” She sat back down and flipped through her files once more. “Right. Your partner is transferring in from San Myshuno. You’ll have to show him how things are done around here.” I nodded my head up and down. “I sure will, Chief.” She continued. “He’s to report to your office first thing Monday morning. The name is Gallagher.”

Leave a Reply

