FM 19

1234

I went straight to my desk Monday morning, in hopes to finish up some paperwork before my new partner arrived. “You must be Casey.” A gruff voice said from nearby. I had a feeling I knew exactly who it was. I looked up into a face that I hadn’t seen in nearly two decades. “Tommy Gallagher…wipe that scowl off your face! It’s me, Shannon! Don’t you remember?” I teased him. A smile took place of the frown instantly. He cleared his throat. “Yeah. Of course I do.” Then he pulled me into an awkward hug. “It’s good to see you, Shannon.” I nodded and grinned. “You too! Isn’t this just the weirdest thing…both of us landed careers in the Willow Creek Police Department and we’re partners at that.” I said. “Well, I think maybe I inherited this job. I even ran off to the city to get away from it all. But here I am. Seemed to follow in my old man’s footsteps after all.” Tommy muttered with a faraway look in his eyes. At that moment, we were both paged. “Looks like we got our first case!” I said happily. Tommy followed me to the lobby. “How is Kolt anyways?” I turned and asked him. He winced at his father’s name. “Still chasing ghosts, I suppose. He never gave up, ya know? And that’s what eventually drove a wedge between us. I filed for emancipation when I turned 15. Needless to say…we don’t talk much anymore.” I frowned. “I’m sorry to hear that, Tommy.” He shrugged. “It is what it is. And ya know what else? You sure did turn out cute, Casey.” He winked at me. I blushed and laughed his compliment off. “Let’s get to work, Gallagher.”

Leave a Reply

