FM 24

1234

Bright and early the next morning, I attempted to run Brad’s fingerprints through our system again. He was our only suspect in the B&E case…and he was proving hard to find. Frustrated, I made my way to the break-room for a snack and stopped dead when I noticed an unfamiliar man at one of our computers. “Excuse m-” I began to say then closed my mouth as quickly as I’d opened it. I knew exactly who he was. I walked around to the front of the desk and faced him. “Do you remember me?” I asked softly. “Can’t say that I do.” He said without meeting my eyes. “Would you mind bringing me some coffee while you’re here?” He asked politely. I cleared my throat loudly, causing him to look up from the computer screen. “Ah, well look at that. Suppose I do know you. You’re one of the Casey girls. If I had to guess…I’d say Shannon.” I nodded happily. He rubbed his eyes. “Damn…how long has it been? You’re a lady now.” He gave me an awkward but warm hug. “Seventeen years.” I answered. He seemed lost in thought momentarily then he snapped out of it. “So you got any idea why my son told me I needed to come? All he said was that it was urgent. I took the red eye and here I am. And he’s nowhere in sight.” He said while looking around the station. I sighed and looked down at my feet. Tommy sure wasn’t making it easy for me. “We have a lot to catch up on, Kolt. You might want to sit down for this. How about that coffee?”

Leave a Reply

