SS 13

5678

We met for breakfast out on the front porch. From there we watched the sun rise over the ocean. We weren’t speaking much and I doubt that anyone had slept decently. It’d been a lot to take in. After we ate, we sat on the porch and reveled in the cool autumn morning. It was so peaceful…I knew then that I wanted to stay. Just a little longer. “I believe we will stay for a few more days, Hannah.” She squealed in delight. I could feel Sheldon’s eyes boring into me. I knew he was ready to leave and put this all behind him. And he’d been grumpier than usual since we’d been here. All this talk of fortune tellers and haunted houses were getting to him, I suppose. But like Hannah, I had a curious mind. Then I had an idea…why didn’t I think of it before? I sat up straight and made an excuse. “I need to get dressed, I have an appointment in town.” Sheldon raised a skeptical eyebrow. “It’s for um…lady things.” I stuttered. “Do you want some company?” Hannah chirped knowingly. “No, thank you. I have to go alone…”

Leave a Reply

