FM 30

9101112

After work, I headed over to the gym. I was hoping to sweat out of some of my job related stress. From the corner of my eye, I saw someone hop onto the treadmill next to me. I was surprised when I looked up and saw that it was Tommy. “Um…hi.” I gave him an awkward smile. “Look…I owe you an apology. As you can see, I have a bit of a bad temper. Part of the reason why my wife divorced me.” He looked down in shame. “And maybe you’re right. Dad and I could use some…counseling.” He grimaced. “We’re cool, Tommy. You don’t owe me an explanation. Friends fight all the time.” He seemed to like that. “We are friends…definitely. But I would be lying if I said I didn’t have feelings for you.” He whispered that last part…like he was unsure if he should say it out loud. My heart began to pound loudly. “I’m flattered. But I think I need to focus on the case. Maybe after we solve it…we can talk about this again.” I glanced over at him. “Yeah, no problem.” He tried to hide the hurt in his eyes from me. “I should go. See ya in the morning.” I nodded. After he left, I kept running. It was dark when I finally left…and I felt like crap. I was in need of some cheering up. Fast. I pulled out my phone and dialed the last number I’d called. “Hi, I’m so glad you answered. I hope this isn’t unprofessional of me…but do you want to hang out?”

Leave a Reply

