FM 32

17181920

The next night I learned that Kolt’s idea of a good time was…midnight bowling. “I never would’ve guessed this was what you had in mind.” I laughed as I laced up my shoes. “I’m full of surprises.” He winked at me. He won the first game and we were taking a break before we played again when I blurted out, “Kolt, there’s something I need to tell you.” He moved closer to me. “Yes?” I blushed heavily. “You were my childhood hero. And the reason why I joined the police force. But now that I’m older I feel…different.” He raised an eyebrow. “Different how?” I could feel his breath on my cheek. I stood then and went to get a drink from the bar. Liquid courage. I turned around and he was right behind me. “You were saying?” He asked with a playful smile. “I can’t really explain it. It’s like a roaring fire…and sometimes I feel like it’s going to consume me.” I met his eyes and found him gazing at me intensely. “Well darling, we have two options. We can either feed the flame or snuff it out.” He slid his arms around me and I breathed him in…he smelled like sandalwood and laundry detergent. Then his lips were on mine. I ran my fingers through his hair and he tugged me even closer into his embrace. I felt like I was burning all over. I pulled my lips from his and gasped for air. Then I whispered in his ear…”I want to feed the flame.” And that’s how we ended up in his cabin in the mountains…

Leave a Reply

