SS 20

33343536

The coroner determined that Allen died from a heart attack and his body was released a few days later. He had no family so we brought him back to the manor with us. And under a large black gum tree in the backyard, he was laid to rest. Susan, the housekeeper, was inconsolable. I believe she was in love with him. Hannah was making the whole situation about herself later on in the billiard room. “Do you think he was talking about me?” She asked us worriedly. “What on earth did “them” mean? Who is them? I wish he’d been able to tell us more!” She put her face in her hands. “It’s my fault, isn’t it?” Sheldon poured himself a drink. “Do not fret, Hannah. You are hardly to blame. For all we know he could’ve been talking about cobwebs in the attic.” She smiled up at him warmly. “Sheldon, I do believe that’s the nicest thing you’ve ever said to me.” Then we all erupted into giggles. Through all of that sadness clouding around us…it seemed the sun was poking back through. It felt good to laugh. And as badly as I wanted to share my news with everyone, it still didn’t seem like the right time…

Leave a Reply

