FM 35

5678

I’d just made to my front yard when my cell rang. A body had been found. Near the creek. I arrived at the scene merely minutes after Kolt and Tommy. Kolt blocked my view. “You shouldn’t be here, darling. You’re too close to this case now.” I stood my ground. “I’m not leaving until I know. Not until I know it’s her. Now move. Please.” I pleaded. “Very well.” He said gruffly. Once he was out of the way, I saw the bridge and knew exactly where we were. Tommy glanced over at me. “Isn’t this where your Mom…” He didn’t finish. “Yes. It’s exactly where she was found…17 years ago.” Then I saw the body. The blonde hair and the yellow shirt…my legs suddenly felt like they were going to collapse under me. I leaned onto Kolt to keep from falling. “Yellow is her favorite color.” I whispered. It was a wreck inside of my head. Tommy bent down and examined the girl. My throat felt like it was closing up…I couldn’t breathe. Tommy wiped his forehead and sighed in relief. “It’s not her. Maybe you should go home now, Casey.” I sucked in a deep breath then I whirled around and faced Kolt. “Oh, I can’t believe it.” He nodded. “It’s definitely good news, babe.” I shook my head. “No. It’s not. A girl is still dead. And I feel so guilty, Kolt. I’m a horrible human being.” He wiped my tears from my face. Tommy glared in our direction. Guess the cat was out of the bag. “Why, darling?” He took my hand in his. “I prayed for this. I prayed for it to be some other girl. Someone else’s sister or mother or daughter…I didn’t care who…just not MY sister.”

Leave a Reply

