SS 22

5678

Hannah called for help as soon as the sun lit the sky the next morning. After hearing the doorbell, I opened the door to Sharla’s frowning face. “I do not like how this place makes me feel. My feet were so heavy coming up the steps, it was like walking in quicksand. It doesn’t want me here.” She looked behind me in the open doorway. “And I don’t want to be here.” I nodded. “I understand if you don’t want to come in.” She gazed at my stomach. “You are with child now. I would congratulate you but I worry…what did you promise the witch?” I rubbed my arms and looked down at my feet. “Oh…she said I had nothing she wanted at this time but she would come to me later.” I could feel her eyes on me but I didn’t look up. She walked into the foyer and gasped. “There is great evil attached to this house. Lurking in the shadows. Watching your every move. I think it wants something…but I cannot tell what.” The others joined me by then and we all watched as she went from room to room, observing signs of “activity” here and there. Once in the billiard room where we had our séance, Sharla murmured, “People shouldn’t meddle in things they don’t understand.” She glared at Hannah, causing Hannah to blush a deep red. Then we followed her to the hallway where she stood in front of the staircase. She was visibly trembling. She shook her head then finally faced us. “Something horrible happened in the attic. Do not go up there unless you absolutely have to…and never at night. I cannot make your decisions for you but I would urge you all to leave this place for good…as soon as possible.”

Leave a Reply

