FM 37

07-31-17_2-27-04 AM07-31-17_2-42-24 AM07-31-17_2-54-47 AM07-31-17_2-56-13 AM

I stood in our backyard and listened to the creek…a gentle murmuring in the dark. It was usually very soothing but not this time. There was too much on my mind. Had I really let a killer into my life? A man I’d idolized since I was a child…and I’d fallen in love with him. I sighed heavily. There was no denying Ginger’s pictures…it was him. And it would be far fetched to think of another possibility. A twin brother that Kolt nor Tommy had ever spoken of? Some crook who had plastic surgery to look like Kolt? Or could it be like I hoped…that the pictures were fake? But why would Ginger ever lie to me? I shook my head and went upstairs to my room. I was exhausted but sleep would not be coming easy. I tossed and turned, my mind still reeling from all the questions I had. If Kolt truly was the “Creekside Strangler” then that meant he’d killed his own wife. And my mother. And countless other women. If he really did have Madison, he’d kill her too. It was only a matter of when…and I had no idea what his end game was. My stomach clenched into knots and I sat upright in bed. I groaned from the discomfort. I felt like I was going to vomit. I barely made it to the bathroom in time and when I was finished, I just stayed there with the porcelain cool against my cheek. Madison was the one that always took care of me while I was sick, ever since we were kids. I missed her so much. A sob escaped my lips, “Maddie, I need you.”

Leave a Reply

