FM 39

1234

“So why are we here?” I asked Kolt as he chopped tomatoes. “What do you mean…we’re having dinner.” He replied without looking up. “Yeah but why here and not at the cabin? Just seems kinda odd. I haven’t been here since I was a kid.” I said, glancing around the room. “I figured it’d be nice. I’ve been thinking about moving back in full time. It’s just been sitting here, collecting dust since…well, you know.” I nodded. Since his wife died. “And I’d be closer to you.” He winked at me…and a shiver went down my spine. We ate in silence and I pushed my food around on my plate with my fork. “You don’t like it?” He asked. “Oh yes, it’s delicious. I’m just not that hungry.” I smiled sweetly. I was starving but I didn’t trust him not to drug my food. “Hmm. How about some dancing?” He hopped off his barstool and turned the radio on. Then he stood there and waited for me to come to him. Finally I got up and walked over to him. I stared down at his outstretched hand…I really didn’t want to touch him but I placed my hand in his anyways. But then he bent down to kiss it. I snatched my hand from him and backed away. He looked up at me, hurt in his eyes. “Okay, level with me, Shannon. Why are you acting like I have the plague?” I shrugged nonchalantly. “I just have a lot on my mind. My sister is missing. My cases are piling up.” He nodded like he understood. “Honestly, I just don’t have time for this right now.” He cocked his head to the side. “What are you saying, Shannon?” I stared into his eyes, without blinking. “I think we should just be friends, Kolt. And keep our relationship completely professional. In fact, I’m leaving now. Please don’t call me.” I grabbed my purse and marched to the front door. As I was slamming it behind me, he called out, “I won’t.”

Leave a Reply

