SS 26

21222324

Day after day…we searched the manor from top to bottom. And we never found Aiden. Eventually Hannah gave up and lost hope of ever seeing him again. “I don’t think I’ve hurt so bad since my Daddy died. How will I get through this?” I patted her hands. “You won’t be alone. You still have us.” I said with a small smile. “Did I ever tell you about him?” She asked me. I shook my head. “Daddy was a sea captain, he was gone for months at a time. Well when I was twelve, we heard that his ship had gone down and all the souls on board had been lost. We thought he was dead but to everyone’s surprise, he washed ashore. He was the only survivor. And he came back to us as mad as as a hatter. Raving about huge sea creatures and singing sirens.” Hannah stared off into the distance, reliving her memories. “Sirens?” I whispered as I rubbed my stomach. “Yeah. Dangerous creatures that lure sailors to their death with their singing.” I felt uneasy after hearing that. It reminded me of the sea witch I’d met. Was that what she was? Hannah continued her story, “Daddy died a few days after he got home. My mom said the stress from the shipwreck was too much for his heart.” She blew her nose into a handkerchief. “I think I know how he felt.” She glanced up at me. “Do you think it’s over now? And they’ve got what they want? The spirits I mean?” I thought for a moment. “I honestly don’t know.” She sobbed. “Why him? He was everything to me.” I wrapped my arms around her and let her cry on my shoulder. My heart ached for her. I couldn’t have imagined how it would feel to lose Sheldon. But little did I know…I was about to find out.

Leave a Reply

