FM 40

 

1324

“Thanks for meeting me. I know it’s our only day off this week…so it means a lot that you came.” I told Tommy the next morning over coffee. “No problem, Shannon. You said it was important.” He lifted an eyebrow and raised his cup to his mouth. “Well…I’m kinda thinking your dad might be our suspect in the Creekside killings.” He stared at me like he was waiting for the punch line, then when it never came, he laughed awkwardly. “You’re kidding…right?” I bit my lip. “No. Just hear me out before you tell me I’m a raving loon. Please.” I begged. “This doesn’t happen to have anything to do with your “fling” ending, right?” He asked with a skeptical grin. I groaned inwardly. “Oh…you heard about that?” I looked down at my plate and took a bite of my bagel. “Yeah. He called me last night and asked if I had anything to do with it.” He shook his head. “I think he was drinking.” I felt a tiny bit of guilt briefly…then I shoved it deep down. “Look, I’m not doing this out of spite. I’m not the jilted lover here. What all do you know about your dad’s life…before you? Entertain me, please.” He sighed exasperatedly and rubbed his temples. “Grandpa died when he was a baby. Grandma was…broken…her mother was a mean drunk and some wounds never heal, ya know. And well…I guess he never really talks about any of them. But still, I’d say he had an average childhood. Nothing that would turn him into a serial killer anyways.” I grunted in disagreement. I had to show him the pictures. “Let’s get out of here. I want you to meet my friend, Ginger.”

Leave a Reply

