SS 28

29303132

A month later, I was taking an afternoon nap when I felt the bed dip like someone was sitting on it. “Sheldon?” I whispered then opened my eyes. It was only Hannah. “Sorry to wake you but I figured we were overdue on spending some together.” I nodded and sat up. “That would be nice.” I noticed the dark circles under her eyes and rubbed my fingers under them. She pulled away and stood. “How about get dressed and we’ll go up to ballroom…we’ll eat and dance. Could be fun.” She stared out of the window with an odd expression on her face. “Is something wrong Hannah?” I asked worriedly. “Everything is wrong.” She smiled sadly. I quickly got dressed and made the long trek to the third floor. While I waited for Hannah to show up, I put on some music. I closed my eyes and pretended that Sheldon was there…dancing with me. I was waltzing around the room for the second time when suddenly, I heard a door from downstairs slam shut. I peered out of the window and could see two figures standing in the front yard. “What’s going on here?” I shouted once I reached the steps. “I-I tried to leave before you saw me. I knew I wouldn’t be able to face you. But I must think of my son, Elaine. I had to make a deal. Please find it in your heart to forgive me.” She pleaded from the sidewalk. Next to her, stood Nerissa. “Forgive you? Are you mad? You’re just going to leave me here? And what of my own child as well, Hannah? How dare you take it upon yourself to seal our fate!” She wiped a tear from her face. “Wait.” I turned to Nerissa. “Why can’t I make another deal…to leave this wretched place for good?” I asked. “Because we already have a deal…and I’m not done collecting on it.” She gave me a wicked grin. “I’m truly sorry, Elaine…” Hannah sobbed. “Oh please. Do me a favor and go screw yourself, Hannah!” I watched with a heavy heart as they faded into the night.

Leave a Reply

