FM 42

13161415

We stood frozen in place until we heard footsteps retreating back up the stairs. “He’s gone now.” Madison whispered quietly from behind me. “I’m so glad you’re okay!” I whirled around and hugged her tightly. “And I’m happy to see you. Both of you.” She smiled sadly at us. “But you shouldn’t have came. Now you’re stuck here too.” I laughed dryly. “That’s pure nonsense. You’re my sister. And this is my job.” I squeezed her hands. “There’s got to be a way out of here.” Tommy said as he shook the door. But it would not budge. He sat down heavily and put his head in his hands while Maddie gently patted his shoulder. I paced back and forth in our tiny prison. “I hate him so much. I can’t believe he did this to us. He killed our mother. Kidnapped you. Killed his own wife.” I glanced at Tommy but he didn’t look up. “I never even saw his face. He always kept a mask on around me. But you know who he is?” Maddie asked. I stopped in front of her. “Yeah I do, Maddie. It’s Kolt. And if I ever get out of here, I’m going to kill him.” She gasped loudly. “No!” She cried. “Not him. It can’t be. Why would he do this?” Tommy put his arm around her to comfort her. “I don’t know, Maddie. People do bad things everyday for no reason other than because they want to. That’s the world we live in.” I walked to the other side of the cell and pressed my face against the wall there. I didn’t want them to see me cry. After a few moments, I heard a gruff whisper come from the other side of the wall. “Shannon…is that you, darling?”

Leave a Reply

