FM 43

17181920

“Kolt?” I whispered back to the wall, my lip trembling. “I think I’ve been drugged. I can’t remember how I got here. It’s a makeshift cell. I’m assuming you’re in one too.” I could hear him shuffling around on the other side. “How long have I been in here?” He mumbled to himself. “Is Madison in there with you?” He called out groggily. She whimpered when she heard his voice and Tommy pulled her closer to him. “And your son! But I guess you didn’t plan on him being trapped in here with us, did you?” I snapped at him. “Or maybe you did. Why would I expect anything more of you? You’re nothing but a cold-hearted killer.” He was silent for a moment, then he spoke again. “Sweetheart. Whatever you think I’ve done, you’re wrong. Please calm down. I’m going to get all of us out of here.” He promised. “Don’t you dare!” I screamed at him through the wall. “Don’t you dare tell me to calm down! Whatever trick you’re trying to pull…it’s not going to work!” He gave a frustrated sigh. “Shannon…I love you. I would never do anything to hurt you. Ever. You have to believe that.” My cynical laugh echoed off of the block walls around us. “I believe I’m the one that should be laughing.” Came a smug voice on the other side of the cells. It was a man…dressed from head to toe in black. I was in complete shock. I felt Maddie and Tommy standing behind me. Maddie slipped her hand into mine and squeezed tightly. “Who are you?” Kolt snarled at the masked man. “Why, that’s pretty funny.” The strangler chuckled. “Everyone thinks I’m you.” Kolt growled and shook the door to his cell. “Take off that mask, you coward.” He sat down in a chair directly in front of Kolt. “As you wish.”

Leave a Reply

