FM 46

9101112

Kolt: “And here we are.” Brad grinned. He picked the gun up from the table and pointed it at me. “So this is what’s going to happen. I’m going to let you out of there and we’re going to take a walk over to your girlfriend’s cage.” He stood and pulled a set of keys from his pocket. As he opened it, he narrowed his eyes. “And no funny business or you’ll be sorry.” He added nastily. I put my hands up in surrender and walked out. “Fine. Just don’t hurt anyone.” He raised his eyebrows and smiled. “I won’t. But you will.” He motioned for me to move forward, then followed behind me as I slowly made my way to Shannon. Then he handed me the keys. “Open it.” I stared him down, wondering where he was going with this. “You’re gonna go in there, wrap your hands around her throat, and squeeze until the light fades from her eyes. Who knows, you might like it. I sure did.” He shrugged. “Then do her sister. After that, I’ll think about letting your boy go. But you…you’re going to go to prison. For my crimes. A life for a life. I think that’s pretty damn fair. And I’ll slip back into the shadows…where I belong. No one will ever hear from me again.” I stood there, gaping at him. Madison sobbed loudly from behind the bars while Tommy tried to calm her. Shannon was looking at me fearfully, her lower lip trembling. “You do it. Or else your kid will take a bullet to the head.” Brad threatened. I looked deeply into Shannon’s eyes as the tears streamed down her face. “Darling, I’m so sorry. For everything.” I whispered. The door creaked loudly as I opened it and I chose that moment to elbow Brad directly in his gut. “Everyone run! Get out of here! Now!” I yelled as I struggled with Brad for control of the gun. I was able to see Shannon’s feet reach the top of the stairs before a loud explosion erupted in my ears…the gun had gone off.

Leave a Reply

